Pipe Dream #334: Don’t Overthink It – Frosted Apple Oatmeal Cookies

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

The thoughts one might think when eating dates are similar to those that one might think when realizing that one is chronically overthinking something.

Eating Dates

From afar in the store, I never would have guess how incredibly dense, sweet and chewy dried dates would be in texture.

Should I really have to chomp on this so long? I’m getting worn out.

Wait, I don’t have to do this.

Too late, that was pretty satisfying and energizing.

Thanks to dried dates, I have now eaten the equivalent of nine pieces of fresh fruit in about three minutes instead of three days.

Overthinking Things

From afar in my mind, I never would have guessed how incredibly dense, sweet and chewy this situation would be if I thought about it more.

Should I really have to think on this so long? I’m getting worn out.

Wait, I don’t have to do this.

Too late, that was temporarily satisfying and not really energizing.

Thanks to overthinking,  I have now spent nine minutes imagining three outcomes to a scenario that will take three minutes to live.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Anyway, dates > overthinking, so don’t think too hard about how these cookies have no added sugar, oil or dairy (that is, minus the frosting). They are hearty and chewy and healthy and simple, and they taste even better on the second day.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

If you don’t have dates on hand, you can always use raisins or chopped nuts or a combination thereof. But I probably don’t need to tell you that dates > raisins (except in these cookies), so I don’t reco it.

Saying “I don’t reco it,” is literally the worst use of abbrev I have ever deigned to employ. There are literally children flying kites in the park outside my office window, and there are figuratively waves lapping on the shore of my summer brain right now, so I’m clearly trying really hard to keep my vocabulary easy on your articulate and classy brains.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Yours ever,

Lauren

Frosted Apple Oatmeal Cookies

An LH Original

1 banana, very ripe, mashed
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup rolled oats
2 tablespoons almond milk (or other milk)
1⁄2 cup chopped dates (or raisins)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Mix all ingredients except the dates in a bowl, then mix in the dates. Drop onto a baking sheet and bake in a 350 degree oven for about 12 minutes, until lightly golden. Let cool. Frost with a glaze of choice. I mixed about 2 cups powdered sugar with a little cinnamon and a tiny bit of vanilla, adding milk teaspoon by teaspoon until it reached a glazing consistency.

0 Responses to “Pipe Dream #334: Don’t Overthink It – Frosted Apple Oatmeal Cookies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


