Task Attraction: Millet Banana Bread

DSC_0051

One conversation I had with a group of friends went approximately like this:

“Would you still hang with me if I was 20% less smart?”

And some dude said, “I don’t know, Lauren…would you be able to cook 20% less well?”

Whatttttttttttt? CHECK. YO SELF. (Actually, I just blinked a little bit.)

Now before all my girls get all up in a huff (because all the dudes are like, “Fair questions, fair question.”), I would just like to present that it is probably not totally anyone’s fault that this question has to come up.

I mean, let’s be real. There is a thing called task attraction, which means that you find someone attractive based on their abilities, like being able to cook. And, when combined with the reward theory of attraction, which means that you are attracted to those who in some way make you feel good, the whole cooking thing can be a devastating combination. I get it. Baking is my half-joke version of how to win friends and influence people, as you well know.

DSC_0056

And I mean, yeah it’s attractive if you’ll mow the lawn and fix the car and do crazy hang time bball shots or whatever other “guy” things you do that make my life better. But I would still hang with you if you did those things 20% less, no question, because there are other important things in life that you’re about!

DSC_0060

I’m not sure I’ve explained very well why I’m kicking you out of my house right now, but will still be friends with you later, but there it is. Task attraction, guys. It’s real.

Lauren

Millet Banana Bread

Find the recipe on smitten kitchen. I opted for 1/4 cup maple syrup instead of 1/3 cup. This is really good banana bread.

0 Responses to “Task Attraction: Millet Banana Bread”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


