Possible bestselling memoir title: I Drink All the Milks – Chocolate Almond Milk + Malted Coconut Coffee Ice Cubes

DSC_0028 2

Let me tell you about my relationship with milk. I know this is why you are here. To learn about these extremely interesting aspects of my life that should totally be shared on the Internet and get millions of shares. Perhaps I should write a memoir.

Anyway.

DSC_0040

When I was a kid, I was super grossed out by milk in all its forms. Eventually, I came around to drinking milk and loved it, but I still took issue with soy milk, almond milk, all the milks. They do not taste the same as regular cow milk. But then I figured out that maybe they don’t have to taste the same, like the difference between instant coffee and cold press–they are just different foods altogether that serve different purposes and needs. So now I’ve come around to those, too, and I drink all the milks. My plan is to graduate to drinking straight whipping cream.

DSC_0019

I figured out that it is so easy to make almond milk that I decided to make fancy ice cubes to go with it. It’s like a chocolate coconut coffee malt, practically.

A couple notes: don’t worry about the milk separating in the fridge. Just shake it up a lot, it’s fine. Also, add more dates. Just like, two more. I liked it, but my roommate said it wasn’t sweet enough.

Memoir-ing,

Lauren

Chocolate Almond Milk + Malted Coconut Coffee Ice Cubes

Adapted from Half Baked Harvest

1 1/2 cups raw almonds + 4 cups water for soaking

4 cups water

4-6 dates

1/3 cup unsweetened cacao powder (may also use unsweetened cocoa powder)

1 vanilla bean, seeds removed (or 1 tablespoon vanilla)

pinch of salt

Chocolate Almond Milk

Add the almonds to a 4-cup glass measuring cup or bowl and cover with around 4 cups water. Allow the almonds to sit overnight or at least 1 hour. Drain the almonds and rinse well under cold water. Add the rinsed almonds to a high powdered blender or food processor. Add 4 cups of water and the dates. Puree until the almonds are very finely ground, about 2 minutes.

Line a bowl or glass pitcher with a double layer of cheese cloth, a nut milk bag or a thin cloth kitchen towel. Slowly pour the almond milk mixture into the cloth. Gently squeeze the bottom of the cloth to release the milk. This with take about 3-5 minutes to get all the milk out.

Rinse out the blender and pour the milk back in. Add the cacao powder, vanilla bean seeds and a pinch of salt. Blend on high until smooth and creamy, about 1 minute.

Pour into a glass jar to store in the fridge for up to 1 week. Shake well before drinking and serve with the malted coconut coffee ice cubes.

Malted Coconut Coffee Ice Cubes

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 3 tablespoons malted milk powder
  • 1 vanilla bean, seeds removed (or 1 tablespoon vanilla)
  • 1 cup strong black coffee

In a blender, combine the coconut milk, malt powder and vanilla bean seeds. Blend until smooth. Pour the mixture among 15-18 ice cube molds, leaving at least half the mold for coffee. Pour the coffee over the coconut milk. Freeze for 4 hours or overnight. Serve with the chocolate almond milk.

2 Responses to “Possible bestselling memoir title: I Drink All the Milks – Chocolate Almond Milk + Malted Coconut Coffee Ice Cubes”


  1. 1 naturelee@aol.com August 10, 2015 at 11:52 am

    “So now I’ve come around to those, too, and I drink all the milks. My plan is to graduate to drinking straight whipping cream.”

    I love the way you think!!!!!

    Sandi

  2. 2 Lauren August 10, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    Sandi, more more more!


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,942 other subscribers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes